I'm looking
for help...
Aidpage is free!

Free downloads: GrantGate®  Federal Money Retriever®

Crime Victim Compensation

Published on AidPage by IDILOGIC on Jun 24, 2005

Administered by:

US Federal Government Agency (see all agencies)
Department of Justice , Office Of Victims Of Crime
CFDA #: 16.576

Who is eligible to apply...

States, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, Guam, and any other possession or territory of the United States who have an established eligible crime victim compensation program, and who meet the eligibility requirements discussed above.

Eligible Applicant Categories:
Eligible Functional Categories:

For fiscal year 2004, the Governor designated State agencies are required to submit the following information and assurance along with the application for assistance: (1) a statement certified by the individual designated by the Governor to administer the VOCA crime victims compensation grant. This statement should specify the total amount of money spent by the program from State funding sources for crime victim compensation awards in the Federal fiscal year October 1, 2002 - September 30, 2003; (2) the amount of such compensation paid for "property damage"; (3) the total amount and each source of revenue for the program in fiscal year 2002; (4) a copy of the State statute or other legal authority establishing the program and any amendments thereto, and (5) an assurance that funds received under the Act will not be used to supplant State funds otherwise available for crime victim compensation. Costs will be determined in accordance with OMB Circular No. A-87 for State and local governments.

Note:This is a brief description of the credentials or documentation required prior to, or along with, an application for assistance.

About this section:

This section indicates who can apply to the Federal government for assistance and the criteria the potential applicant must satisfy. For example, individuals may be eligible for research grants, and the criteria to be satisfied may be that they have a professional or scientific degree, 3 years of research experience, and be a citizen of the United States. Universities, medical schools, hospitals, or State and local governments may also be eligible. Where State governments are eligible, the type of State agency will be indicated (State welfare agency or State agency on aging) and the criteria that they must satisfy.

Certain federal programs (e.g., the Pell Grant program which provides grants to students) involve intermediate levels of application processing, i.e., applications are transmitted through colleges or universities that are neither the direct applicant nor the ultimate beneficiary. For these programs, the criteria that the intermediaries must satisfy are also indicated, along with intermediaries who are not eligible.